Hello world! Please change me in Site Preferences -> This Category/Section -> Lower Description Bar

Scholarships & Awards

Since 1928, Zonta International has addressed challenges to women’s equality in science, business, public affairs and government by providing critical financial support through programs aimed at furthering women’s education, leadership and youth development.

How to Apply

Applicants must possess a high school diploma prior to August of the granting year and reside in Hancock County. The applicant should submit an electronic generated application and include one recommendation with her transcript of high school or college grades. The criteria for selection of the scholarship recipients will include:
  • Academic achievements
  • School activities
  • Community service
  • Demonstrated leadership
  • Clearly formulated career goals and financial need
The number and amount of scholarships is determined annually by the Scholarship Committee and availability of funds.

    2017 Scholarship Information (2017 Jane M. Klausman application will be available soon)

    Scholarship Application

    Young Woman in Public Affairs Application

    Jane M. Klausman Women in Business 2016 Application

    Zonta Nontraditional Student 2017 Application


    District and International Scholarships

    Amelia Earhart Fellowships – Established in 1938 in honor of famed pilot and Zontian, Amelia Earhart, the Amelia Earhart Fellowship is awarded annually to women pursuing Ph.D./doctoral degrees in aerospace-related sciences and aerospace-related engineering. The Fellowship of US$10,000, awarded to 35 Fellows around the globe each year, may be used at any university or college offering accredited post-graduate courses and degrees in these fields. Refer to the website for further details.
    Young Women in Public Affairs – Award honors young women in secondary level or pre-university schools, ages 16 to 19, who demonstrate a commitment to leadership in public policy, government and volunteer organizations. Our local award is for US $500.00 and the opportunity to be selected as a District and possibly an International Award Winner. District recipients receive US $1,000 and international recipients are selected to receive awards of $3,000 each. ELIGIBILITY for YWPA: Women of any nationality, who are pre-university or pre-college students (ages 16-19) living or studying in a Zonta district/region at the time of application and demonstrate evidence of:
    • Active commitment to volunteerism
    • Experience in local or student government
    • Volunteer leadership achievements
    • Knowledge of Zonta International and its programs
    For further information contact: Deborah K. Bartlett, YWPA, Zonta Club of Findlay, e-mail or phone 419-422-1684.
    Jane M. Klausman Women in Business Scholarship – This scholarship was first awarded in 1998 and is open to women enrolled in at least the second year of an undergraduate program through the final year of a Master’s program in business, leading to a business management career. The program is designed to encourage women to enter careers and to seek leadership positions in business-related fields in their communities and throughout the world. The Jane M. Klausman Women in Business Scholarship looks to the women of today to be the leaders of tomorrow. For further information contact: Deborah K. Bartlett, Zonta Club of Findlay, e-mail: or phone 419-422-1684.